Domus 1928-1939

Domus 1928-1939
Domus 1928-1939
€15

Characteristics

French version

Number of pages
752 pages
Publication date
7/11/2017
Dimensions
15,2 cm × 20,5 cm × 5,0 cm
Publisher
Taschen
Categories
Bookshop, Design, Architecture

Description

An unparalleled publication in architecture and design, the domus "living newspaper" was created in 1928 by Gio Ponti. Over the years, during the following decades, the magazine covered the main themes and movements of industrial design, interior, product and structure, with a concern for creative excellence and editorial rigor. This new reissue presents how domus covered the evolutions that marked the years between 1928 and 1939.
This period is recognized as having marked the emergence of the International Style, when Le Corbusier, Mies van der Rohe, Marcel Breuer, Robert Mallet-Stevens, Alvar Aalto and Richard Neutra applied the modernist ideas to create rectilinear shapes, bare surfaces and open and bright interiors. The domus reports during these decisive years trace the details and the grandiose forms.
From steel skyscrapers to vertiginous height to tubular furniture, the articles form an indispensable account of the way light, structures and refined aesthetics have been combined in a quest for the right and utilitarian form, adapted at an age of rapid industrialization. domus includesSeven volumes covering the period from 1928 to 1999More than 6.000 pages addressing the major projects of the most important designers and architectsThe original models and all the covers, with captions providing references and information on the contextNew introductory essays written by renowned architects and designersEach edition includes an English translation of the texts, some of which are only available in Italian in the pastA complete index of the names of designers and manufacturers in each volume

Domus 1928-1939

Domus 1928-1939
Domus 1928-1939
15 €

Caractéristiques

Édition française

Nombre de pages
752 pages
Date de parution
7/11/2017
Dimensions
15,2 cm × 20,5 cm × 5,0 cm
Editeur
Taschen
Catégories
Librairie, Design, Architecture

Descriptif

Publication inégalée en matière d'architecture et de design, le "journal vivant" domus fut créé en 1928 par Gio Ponti. Au fil des ans, durant les décennies qui suivirent, la revue couvrit les principaux thèmes et mouvements du design industriel, d'intérieur, de produit et de structure, dans un souci d'excellence créative et de rigueur éditoriale. Cette nouvelle réédition présente la façon dont domus a couvert les évolutions qui ont marqué les années entre 1928 et 1939.
Cette période est reconnue comme ayant marqué l'émergence du Style international, lorsque Le Corbusier, Mies van der Rohe, Marcel Breuer, Robert Mallet-Stevens, Alvar Aalto et Richard Neutra ont appliqué les idées modernistes pour créer des formes rectilignes, des surfaces dépouillées et des intérieurs ouverts et lumineux. Les reportages de domus durant ces années décisives en retracent les détails et les formes grandioses.
Des gratte-ciels d'acier à la hauteur vertigineuse aux meubles tubulaires, les articles forment un indispensable compte rendu de la façon dont ont été combinées la lumière, les structures et l'esthétique épurée dans une quête de la forme juste et utilitaire, adaptée à un âge en voie d'industrialisation rapide. domus comprendSept volumes couvrant la période de 1928 à 1999Plus de 6. 000 pages abordant les grands projets des designers et architectes les plus importantsLes maquettes originales et l'ensemble des couvertures, accompagnées de légendes fournissant des repères et des informations sur le contexteDe nouveaux essais introductifs écrits par des architectes et des designers de renomChaque édition comprend en annexe la traduction anglaise des textes, certains n'étant jusqu'à maintenant accessibles qu'en italienUn index complet des noms des designers et des fabricants dans chaque volume